David Montgomery Award -- correction

Call for submissions, deadline 1 November

Dear Everyone,

There was an error on the OAH website regarding the deadline for submissions for the inaugural David Montgomery Award. It has now been corrected, but to avoid any possible confusion we would like to draw your attention to the fact that there is still time to ask your publisher to submit books. We want to be sure everyone knows about this. The deadline is November 1. The full notice is below.



Julie Greene
Fellow, 2013-2014
National Humanities Center
7 TW Alexander Drive, P.O. Box 12256
Research Triangle Park, NC 27709
Phone: (919) 549-0661 ext. 202
Fax: (919) 990-8535

Professor of History
University of Maryland at College Park
2124 Taliaferro Hall
College Park, MD 20742
ph: 301-405-4318
fax: 301-314-9399


The David Montgomery Award will be given annually beginning in 2014 by the OAH with co-sponsorship by the Labor and Working-Class History Association
(LAWCHA) for the best book on a topic in American labor and working-class history. Eligible works shall be written in English and deal with United States history in significant ways but may include comparative or transnational studies that fall within these guidelines. The award is given in recognition of David Montgomery's crucial role in pioneering new approaches to the study of working people and their history. David Montgomery was president of the OAH 1999-2000.

Each entry must be published during the period January 1, 2013 through December 31, 2013.

The inaugural award will be presented at the 2014 OAH Annual Meeting in Atlanta, Georgia, April 10-13.

Submission Procedures

One copy of each entry, clearly labeled "2014 David Montgomery Award Entry," must be mailed directly to the committee members listed below. Each committee member must receive all submissions by November 1, 2013.

Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after November 1,
2013 and before January 1, 2014. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the book must be received no later than January 7, 2014.
(Please see "Submission Policy.")

If a book carries a copyright date that is different from the publication date, but the actual publication date falls during the correct timeframe making it eligible, please include a letter of explanation from the publisher with each copy of the book sent to the committee members.

The final decision will be made by the David Montgomery Award Committee by February 2014. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation, where s/he will receive a cash award and a plaque.

David Montgomery Award Committee

Michael K. Honey (Committee Chair)
Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
University of Washington, Tacoma
1900 Commerce Street
Tacoma, WA 98402-3100

Julie Greene
110 Braswell Court
Chapel Hill, NC 27516

Peter J. Rachleff
Macalester College
835 East Sixth Street
Saint Paul, MN 55106


[Cross-posted, with thanks, from H-Labor]